#### Herefordshire Schools' Cricket Association

#### Annual Report 2022

### Jack Roberts Cup Final (u 15's ) Wigmore HS 111/5 John Kyrle 112/0 John Kyrle won by 10 wickets

Wigmore won the toss and elected to bat. Captain Adam Gray scored 29 and received good support from Ben Hughes 28, Henry Black 26 n.o and Jack Ellis 11.For John Kyrle, Ethan Drew- White took 2 wickets, and there were good catches for Jo Pennington and Will Kelsall.

In reply, Jo Pennington (48 n.o) and Arthur Hughes (37 n.o) batted well and put on an unbroken opening partnership to win the match quite comfortably. Mrs Carole Roberts presented the Jack Roberts Cup to the winning captain.

John Kyrle went on to represent Herefordshire in the Midlands rounds of the T20 competition.

## Jack Roberts Plate Final Weobley 201/1 Kingstone 87 All out Weobley won by 114 runs.

This final was postponed and eventually played at Burghill and Tillington CC on 23<sup>rd</sup> June. George Stephenson (81) and Ely Jones (73 n.o.) batted beautifully for Weobley in an opening partnership of 139. Archie Stephenson made a quickfire 35 n.o to boost the total to a magnificent 201/1 off 20overs hitting the last ball of the innings for a 6. In reply a number of Kingstone batsmen got starts, but the crucial wicket was that of Archie Langford who was run out for 11. Toby Phipps- Boy made 16, Will Pratt 10 and Lewis 12

Mrs Carole Roberts presented the Jack Roberts Plate to George Stephenson, captain of Weobley.

## Chadd Cup (u 14's). Hereford Cathedral 243/8 Lady Hawkins 181 All out HCS won by 62 runs.

After the loss of an early wicket James Hellier and Harry Milestone put on 130 for the  $2^{nd}$  wicket. James Hellier hit a magnificent 96, including 8 sixes and Harry made 58. Hugh Norman made a rapid 42 n.o. For Lady Hawkins, Alex Williams took 2-31 and there were 3 run outs in the latter stages of the innings.

In reply, Otto Parry made 39 and Harry Dinsdale a good 38 n.o . James Hellier took 3-30 and Arthur Chilman 3-5. for Cathedral.

The first Chadd Cup Final took place in 1972. Mrs Kirsty Sockett, daughter of John Chadd, presented the cup to the HCS captain and the man of the match award to James Hellier.

Hereford Cathedral will go on to represent Herefordshire in the National rounds of the InspireSport u 15 One Day Cup in 2023.

#### Ed Price Plate St Mary's 156/3 Whitecross 128/ 5 St Mary's won by 28 runs

This final was played on 28<sup>th</sup> June at Pentland Gardens. A fine opening stand between Rufus Darke (25) and Seb Slocombe (92 n.o) set the innings up. Coby Bryan, the Whitecross wicket keeper fielded particularly well. In reply Kieram Driver made an excellent 55 with good support from Tom McSherry(13). James Birdsall took 3-22 to restrict Whitecross. Man of the match Seb Slocombe also took an excellent slip catch.

Mr Peter Reed, master i/c presented the Ed Price Plate to the winning captain

## Richard Wydenbach Cup St Mary's 120/5 Hereford Cathedral 120/5 Cathedral won by 5 wickets

This final was played at Pentland Gardens on 6<sup>th</sup> July. It was a match of high cricket quality, probably the best of all of the finals this year. Rufus Darke scored a brisk 40, full of crisp drives, and received good support from Ethan Bartlett 18, Theo Rogers 23 n.o. and Noah Pratley (13). For Cathedral, Gabriel Allbright took 2 wickets and Benji Richie was outstanding in the field. In reply, Gabriel Allbright scored a match winning 55 n.o.and received good support from Maddie Gillet (20) nd Benji Richie (12). For St Mary's Patterson took 2 wickets and Elliot Gale took 1 wicket and made a good catch.

Mr Bob Hall thanked Hereford Lions Club for their ongoing financial support and mentioned the late John Burgoyne, local cricketer and former treasurer of Hereford Lions Club.

Mr Richard Wydenbach, President of Herefordshire Schools Cricket, presented the match ball to Gabriel Allbright, the John Burgoyne Cup to Rufus Darke and finally his own cup to Gabriel Allbright, captain of Hereford Cathedral.

### Richard Wydenbach Plate Final. Kingstone 57 All Out Lucton 61/2 Lucton won by 8 wickets

Lucton won the toss and asked Kingstone to bat. Oliver Bradley 13 and Kaspar Biela 14 top scored for Kingstone, but good bowling from Hugo Gibson (4-5) and Nick Lin (3-3) restricted Kingstone to a modest total. In reply man of the match Hugo Gibson played a match winning innings of 33 n.o. to steer Lucton to an easy win. Mr Nick Nenadich, President Herefordshire CCC presented the match ball to Hugo Gibson and Mr Richard Wydenbach, President Herefordshire SCA presented his plate to the winning Captain.

### David English under 12 Cup Hereford Cathedral 150/6 John Kyrle 76/9 Cathedral won by 74 runs

Cathedral batted first and got off to a good start with Ollie Daw (35) and Will Kennedy (70 n.o). Thereafter, Will Jaques made 17 John Kyrle bowled and fielded well with Yash Navalgunned taking 4-29 and Ed Calderbank 2-36. Good catches for Jack Shelley, Lawrence and Ed Calderbank. The Cathedral opening bowlers tore into the John Kyrle batting, with Noah Morgan taking 2-15, Teddy Morgan- Jones 2-12 and Sam Fisher 2-23. 2 good stumpings for wicketkeeper Daw. Yash Navalgunned top scored with 13.

Mr Richard Wydenbach, Hon President HSCA, presented the u 12 Cup and the match ball to man of the match Will Kennedy for his excellent innings.

Hereford Cathedral will go on to represent Herefordshire in the National rounds of the David English Cup in 2023.

# Haines Watts u 12 Plate John Masefield 103/3 Whitecross 58/5 John Masefield won by 45 runs.

This final was eventually played at Ledbury CC on Monday 4<sup>th</sup> July with 16 overs per innings. Archie Fleetwood top scored for John Masefield with 21, with good support from Harry Embury 19 and Zac 10.Good catches from Jude and a caught and bowled for Kieram. Whitecross used 10 bowlers. In reply Harry Embury had an excellent stumping and Zac took 2 wickets in 2 balls.

Mr Richard Wydenbach presented the match ball to Jude for his stunning catch and the replacement shield to Harry Embury, captain of John Masefield.

H.S.C.A. would like to thank the following :

Burghill and Tillington C.C Ledbury CC Tony and Rafe Clifford – Jones Roger Welch Kieram Hallam Steve Watkins, Richard Skyrme. Pete Gale and all at Herefordshire Cricket Simon Swancott and Hereford Lions Club

R.Hall Hon Sec July 2022